Athanasios Nenes

Athanasios Nenes is a Professor of Atmospheric Processes and heads the Laboratory of Atmospheric Processes and their Impacts (LAPI) at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland. He is an affiliate researcher of the Institute of Chemical Engineering Science at FORTH and a founding member of the Center of Studies on Air quality and Climate Change at the institute. His research focuses on the impact of atmospheric processes (especially aerosol) on clouds, climate, air quality and ecosystems. He is the prime author of the ISORROPIA aerosol thermodynamics models, aerosol-cloud parameterization modules and developer of instrumentation to measure aerosol properties and Cloud Condensation Nuclei. A Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher (2020), having authored/co-authored more than 300 manuscripts (Google Scholar citations > 26800, h=89). He serves as President of Atmospheric Sciences of the European Geophysical Union, and member of the UN Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine Environmental Protection (WG38: Atmospheric input of chemicals to the ocean), the Committee on Nucleation and Atmospheric Aerosols, and served on the Swiss Geosciences Roadmap (2020-2021), US National Academies Committee on the Future of Atmospheric Chemistry Research (2014-2016), Secretary of Atmospheric Sciences of the American Geophysical Union (2012-2016), Board of Directors of the American Association for Aerosol Research (2014-2017) and Editor in the Copernicus journal Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (2004-2019). He is a member of the Academia Europaea (2021), an American Geophysical Union Fellow (2020); recipient of a ERC Consolidator Grant (2016); Vaughan Lectureship, California Institute of Technology (2014); Ascent Award, American Geophysical Union (2012); Whitby Award, American Association for Aerosol Research (2011); Houghton Award, American Meteorological Society (2009); Sigma Xi Young Faculty Award (2007); Friedlander Award, American Association for Aerosol Research (2005); NASA New Investigator Award (2004) and a National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2004).