Christos Housiadas

Christos Housiadas is Mechanical Engineer (National Technical University of Athens) and holds a DEA and a PhD in Mechanics (Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France). He has an extensive experience of more than 25 years in research and project management in the areas of aerosol flows, nuclear engineering, scientific computing, transport phenomena, biofluid mechanics and multiphase systems. He has worked at European Commission’s Joint Research Centre-Euratom for 7 years, the French CEA (Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique) for 4 years, and at the high-tech R&D company Innovations Thermiques (France) for 1 year. Currently he is Research Director at “Demokritos” National Centre for Scientific Research, where is Head of the Thermal-Hydraulics & Multiphase Flow Laboratory (THEMLAB). Since 2008 he is Chairman of the Greek Atomic Energy Commission (EEAE), which is the national regulatory authority for radiation safety. He has published more than 150 papers in peer-reviewed journals and international conferences. He has written the standard text on aerosols in the CRC Press Handbook of Multiphase Flows (2006 & 2016), and is among the principal authors of the textbook on Light Water Reactor Severe Accident Safety (2012). Dr Housiadas has been awarded an honorable distinction by the Greek Scholarship Foundation (IKY) and a fellowship by the European Commission for graduate studies. Also, he has expert consulting activities and significant involvement in R&D policy making, technical-scientific and evaluation committees both at national and international level. During the Greek Presidency of the EU Council in 2014 Dr. Housiadas had assumed the Presidency of the relevant Council working group (WPAQ-Working Party on Atomic Questions), which reached an important agreement on the revised European Nuclear Safety Directive (Directive 2014/87/Euratom). He was designated, unanimously for 2 consecutive terms (2015-2018) Vice-Chairman of the European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG) and Chairman of the Working Group "Transparency" of ENSREG.